(TV) Gabby” Lopez III Recieves Lifetime Achievement Award from 22nd KBP Golden Dove Awards.

ABS-CBN chairman Eugenio “Gabby” Lopez III  received the highest honor in this year’s 22nd Golden Dove Awards as the Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas recognized him with the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award for his contributions to the broadcast industry and how he took the lead in changing ABS-CBN’s business strategies for the benefit of its viewers.

Robi Domingo with the production staff of ASAP 19

“Our consumers have changed. They now have the power to choose how and when they would consume our content. From being a broadcast mass media company, we are now driving our revolution to become a consumer company that engages with each customer on an individual basis.  We change because that is how we can best serve the Filipino,” said Lopez in his acceptance speech read by ABS-CBN Publishing CEO Ernie Lopez at the awards ceremony.

Lopez shared the honor with the men and women of ABS-CBN who have lived up to the company’s mission to be in the service of the Filipino people for the past 60 years.

“While the award is much appreciated, I was surprised to learn that there was an award attached to my doing what I love. What exactly do we do in ABS-CBN? We serve the Filipino. We begin and end with that,” he explained. “I know that whatever the future generations do, it will be to better serve the Filipino. For as long as there is a Filipino in need, we will be there to serve him.”

Apart from the top honor given to Lopez, ABS-CBN programs and personalities also bagged a total of 24 awards including the Best TV Station award for ABS-CBN.

ABS-CBN won big in the television categories that include Best TV Sports Program for “Sports Unlimited,” Best TV PublicAffairs Program from “SOCO,” Best TV Comedy Program for “Goin Bulilit,” Best TV Newscast Program for “Umagang Kay Ganda,” Best TV Variety Program for “ASAP 19,” Best TV Drama Program for “Be Careful with My Heart,” Best TV Public Affairs Program Host for Kim Atienza (“Matanglawin”), Best TV Actress for Drama Program for Boots Anson-Roa in her portrayal in “MMK” episode ‘Kamison,’ Best TV Actor for Drama Program for Joel Torre in his portrayal in “Honesto,” and Best TV Station Promotional Material for “Magkasama Tayo sa Kwento ng Pasko.”

ABS-CBN Regional Network Group also raked in accolades such as the Best TV Culture and Arts Program for ABS-CBN Naga’s “Pagtalubod sa Pagtubod: Mag TV Penafrancia Special,” Best TV Public Affairs Program-Provincial for ABS-CBN Iloilo’s Diresto –  DYAF, Best TV Special Program for ABS-CBN Davao’s “Agri Tayo Dito,” Best TV Newscast Program – Provincial for ABS-CBN Baguio’s “TV Patrol Northern Luzon,” and Best TV Newscaster for ABS-CBN Bacolod’s Ryan Gamboa.

Meanwhile, ABS-CBN also ruled the radio categories through its AM radio station DZMM and regional stations. The Kapamilya Network bagged the .”

The Golden Dove Awards program is held annually by the country’s broadcast media association KBP, where winners are chosen from the association’s members by independent jurors representing the youth, academe, religious groups, advertising industry, and government.

Like it? Share with your friends!


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Push Awards' Most Popular Entertainment Blogger of 2016, Rod Magaru is a celebrity Blogger who blogs about lifestyle and Entertainment. His Blog is known for breaking news on new projects in TV, Movies and reviews of products, hotels and awesome travel tips. He is also a Social media strategist, accepts hosting & speaking engagement. For inquiries email [email protected]