(TV) ABSCBN Received 27 Gawad Tanglaw Awards; Hailed as Best TV Station

ABS-CBN was named once again as Best TV Station and emerged as the most awarded TV network with 27 awards for its film, television shows, and personalities at the 15th Gawad Tanglaw Awards.ABS-CBN won Best TV Station

In the film category, “Ang Babaeng Humayo” star Charo Santos-Concio was hailed Best Actress, while John Lloyd Cruz and Piolo Pascual were both awarded the Presidential Jury Award for Best Film Performances.

 Charo Santos Concio 1

Ang Babaeng Humayo,” the critically acclaimed Cinema One Originals produced movie, was named as one of the Best Films at the ceremony.

For news, seasoned Kapamilya journalists Ted Failon won Best News Program Anchor, while Jorge Carino, and Atom Araullo were both recognized as Best Morning Show Hosts.

The ABS-CBN News Channel (ANC) was also a big winner at Gawad Tanglaw as it raked in recognitions including Best Business Program (“On the Money” and “Business Nightly”), Best Lifestyle Program (“Executive Class” and “Cityscape”), Best Sports Program (“Hardball”), Best Public Affairs Program (“Beyond Politics”), Best Documentary Program (“Mukha”), and Best Educational Program (“Greenliving”).

Meanwhile, ABS-CBN TVplus’ original production, “Funny Ka, Pare Ko,” was hailed as Best Comedy Show, its first ever recognition since it premiered last April 2016. The sitcom starring Karla Estrada and Bayani Agbayani airs on the TVplus exclusive all-day movie channel, CineMo.

Other awards that ABS-CBN entertainment shows, movies, and personalities took home were Best Drama Anthology (“MMK”), Best TV Series (“The Greatest Love”), Best Variety Show (“ASAP”), Best Reality/Talent Show (“The Voice Kids”), Best Morning Program (“Magandang Buhay”), Best Game Show (“Minute to Win It”),  Best Talk Show (“Tonight with Boy Abunda”), Best Children’s Program (“Oyayi”), Best Performance by an Actor (Coco Martin for “FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano”), Best Performance by an Actress (Sylvia Sanchez for “The Greatest Love), and Best Performance by an Actor-Single Performance (Albie Casino for “MMK’s” Picture episode), Best Musical Scoring (“The Unmarried Wife), and Best Supporting Actor (Xian Lim for Everything about Her).

Sylvia Sanchez

Gawad Tanglaw is one of the longest academe award-giving bodies that aims to honor exemplary work in film and television.

Like it? Share with your friends!


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Rod Magaru is an award winning content creator based in the Philippines. He blogs about lifestyle and Entertainment and is known for breaking news on new projects in TV, Movies and reviews of products, hotels and awesome travel tips. He is also a Social media strategist, accepts hosting & speaking engagement. For inquiries email [email protected]